CodeNewbie Community 🌱

Cover image for [On-Demand Talk] Next-Gen Inclusivity: How Gen Z Can Make Real Change in Tech
haimantika mitra for CodeLand 2022

Posted on

[On-Demand Talk] Next-Gen Inclusivity: How Gen Z Can Make Real Change in Tech

About this talk

We are in the 21st century, the era of web3, the Metaverse, and the tech world bringing imagination to real life. With so much advancement, why are we still not able to make the tech industry a safe heaven for EVERYONE? What are the steps that we can take to make this industry better?

I believe that if all of us can take a step forward and be the change we wish to see in technology, an ethical movement will be ushered in.

In this talk we will see how the change can be brought by simple yet effective ways.

Talk Recording

Slides

🌈 Comment below and ask me questions — I might just answer them during my live speaker discussion!

About me

Hi! I'm Haimantika Mitra — Developer Advocate at Appwrite. I'm also a community builder and a product of community myself as I'm heavily involved in learning, sharing, and building for and with various communities myself! I believe that technology is for everyone. So far, I've helped over 1000 students in the BAME community with mentoring and improving their technical skills. I'm also a huge advocate of women in tech, and have helped women early in their careers find a way to the field.

This on-demand talk is part of CodeLand 2022 — a virtual conference brought to you by CodeNewbie & DEV on June 16 & 17, 2022.

Top comments (22)

Collapse

hussain_codes profile image
Hussain Codes

Recruiting processes in tech can be a big barrier for early-career devs, especially for young first-timers who just graduated and want to break into tech. Many processes are outdated, irrelevant for the 21st century or (some) older people in tech can be gatekeepers. How can young devs create change in this aspect?

Collapse

haimantika profile image
haimantika mitra