CodeNewbie Community 🌱

Cover image for Non-CS degree holders, what did you study in college?
Ben Halpern
Ben Halpern

Posted on

Non-CS degree holders, what did you study in college?

Top comments (37)

Collapse

ben profile image
Ben Halpern

My official degree is: Bachelor of Arts, with a Major in Commerce and a minor in Canadian Studies.

Within "commerce" I studied a variety of business and organizational structure disciplines, with a focus on marketing.

Collapse

tonycimaglia profile image
Tony Cimaglia

I never actually finished my bachelor's, but I studied Film and Video. I've thought about going back to finish as a CS major if I can ever convince a company i work for to pay for it 😝.

Collapse

ben profile image
Ben Halpern

I studied some film and video in college. Did you try to get into that industry before getting into coding?

Collapse

tonycimaglia profile image
Tony Cimaglia

I started to lose my passion for the medium the more I studied. Once I realized what working in that industry was actually gonna look like (90hr weeks, no time for family, etc.) I was completely off the idea.

Collapse

theslamanderson profile image
Chris Anderson

Not sure if this counts, but I have both an associate's and bachelor's degrees in Information Technology. There were programming courses in the curriculum. I initially had a career as an IT Manager but decided I preferred writing code and made the change.

Collapse

brendamichellle profile image
Brenda Michelle

I have a BA in Sociology 🙂

Collapse

ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Any parts of a sociology degree help you in software development today?

Collapse

brendamichellle profile image
Brenda Michelle

Maybe the research I had to do during uni 🤔. It has helped me in self-learning a lot. I do a lot of research to find the best resources to build my own curriculum.🙂

Collapse

hmboyles profile image
holly boyles

I was a registered dental assistant. I am not working on my associates degree in programming.