CodeNewbie Community šŸŒ±

Christine
Christine

Posted on • Originally published at chrissycodes.hashnode.dev on

Dev Retro 2022: How I overcame imposter syndrome and found my way into coding

Image description

If I had to pick a quote that describes my coding journey, it would be the famous saying, You wont know until you try. Im not going to lie to you, starting a coding journey can be a daunting and intimidating experience, especially for women since these spaces are dominated by men. To all of the women who want to learn how to code but feel like theres no place for them, no judgment here. I had those feelings once too. Heres my story on how I overcame them.

My background and how I got into coding

Im an Instructional Designer. This job title has many definitions but to simplify it (and to save you from being bored with long explanations šŸ˜‰), I create engaging content that helps solve an issue in an organization. One day, I was being interviewed for an Instructional Designer position for an EdTech company. Everything went pretty smoothly until I was asked if I had a basic knowledge of HTML.

Yes, I was an idiot for not taking that skill preference seriously! Stop reminding me Ariel! šŸ˜£

After screaming on the inside for a few minutes, I took a deep breath, and told the interviewer No. A couple of days later, I received the classic We went with someone else email. My feelings of dejection grew as I saw more & more Instructional Design job postings requesting people with coding knowledge. So from that day forward, I decided to learn how to code.

Overcoming impostor syndrome and self-doubt