CodeNewbie Community ๐ŸŒฑ

Cover image for Code More by having a plan #CNC2021
Donovan
Donovan

Posted on

Code More by having a plan #CNC2021

Hi guys! I'm Donovan and I currently work as a receptionist answering a telephone for 40 hours a week at night through the weekend. I'm exhausted by the time I get home but I did tell myself I'd code for at least an hour everyday.

Background

I never really set out to make a career change. Years ago I would just make websites for whatever inside joke my friends and I had. Stuff like a fart soundboards or a homepage that'd play the John Cena entrance music like the Chrome extension Cenafy lol. Throughout the years I ended up learning a little bit more and I really just enjoyed making stuff people liked to interact with. When stuff got more complicated and I scoured the internet for my places to ask questions I found Dev.to I've been on it for a hot minute till Codenewbie forem launched. I never posted just because I'm scared in general of posting on the internet because I don't know ****. Who cares what I have to say, but I saw that everybody here seemed really supportive.

Progress

I joined the code more challenge. I would go through what everyone calls tutorial hell. A good amount of people mention that you need a portfolio especially if you're self taught. I have no projects, what the hell was I doing with all my time? So besides just coding more I just wanted to finish SOMETHING.

Takeaways, Learnings, and Growth

I'm not sure about you but there are times where I'd sit at a blank VS Code page. Mission 2 definitely helped me out because I never had a plan to begin with. If a coach were to have no game plan coming into a playoff series would be a loss. So I opened up my notes app with some ideas. I started with the easiest one. A static web page for a homey that just released an EP. I opened up Figma and just tried to make something. It looked super wack but I had an idea of what I wanted to do.

๐Ÿคฎ

Alt Text