Cover image for "A reflection on my CNC2022 Code More journey"
Lesley-Nicole
Lesley-Nicole

Posted on

"A reflection on my CNC2022 Code More journey"

Name: Lesley

Title: Freelance Web Designer-Developer

#CNC2022 Cohort: 1

"Code More" Goal: My goal was to get a portfolio website setup and study for a blockchain developer certification.

Introduction

Hi I'm Lesley and I've been learning to code for a couple of years and now I'm studying to be a blockchain developer. I would start a project and another project and another without ever finishing one. My mind was just scattered in different directions so I thought the "Code More" challenge might give me some direction.

Mission 1

The first mission was about defining our goals and assumptions, then finding out how to minimize the risks.

I guess the first one is always the hardest but right off the bat, I realized probably my biggest problem. I was assuming I would find time to study and build enough confidence to take the test.
I listed ways to make time for coding like after my family is asleep etc. but I wasn't accounting for what to do if I don't understand something or what to do if I can't complete projects due to this.

I want to code more because I want to be a blockchain developer.
A pretty good way of knowing I reached my goal would be to get certified....

Assuming I learn and practice enough to feel confident enough to take the test.
And that's assuming that I make enough time to study properly.

Mission 2

Mission 2 was about breaking down tasks and scheduling work hours.

Ok so while breaking down my tasks, I decided to focus on something more tangible, not just studying and learning. I focused on finishing a couple of simple outstanding projects and my portfolio. It went great! I used the online "Tweek Calender" and although at the time I worked on this Mission, I didn't get my projects finished, I did finish them shortly after.