CodeNewbie Community 🌱

Evan the Barber
Evan the Barber

Posted on

New to coding

I chose to start my coding journey trying to learn Python first and hopefully become proficient in others. Any tips or pointers are always appreciated.

Latest comments (6)

Collapse

chriscyork profile image
Christopher Cooper

I'd say the dummies books by Wiley are a great reference book to have when starting out. They go into good detail but from a very basic level. I've not tried the Python one but the C and Java ones have helped a great deal with coding for my degree.

Collapse

sabineemden profile image
Sabine Emden (she/her)

Hi Evan! If you are a total beginner and have no previous coding experience, I recommend Python for Everybody by Charles Severance.

Collapse

michaelcurrin profile image
Michael Currin • Edited

Indeed, you need to work independently. If you don't have a mentor or a degree to give going structure, then you have to find material for yourself from courses, tutorials, videos and reading code on GitHub.

If you need ideas on what to build, there are sites which list things from calculators to businesses so you can get ideas. "Idea Bag" site and app is a nice place to look. And ask your friends. They'll ask you to build them a web site or a web scraper or a game or something they will use and you can create together. it can feel more rewarding and less lonely than building a portfolion code that no one has found or uses yet (sharing your repos on blogs helps).

And it is a journey that continues. After a few years in software, I probably spent even more of my weekly learning new skills and applying them on projects than when I was a beginner.

Be patient with yourself and balance opinions from articles and people. A lot of opinions will be strong and will conflict. Don't focus on what is "best" but rather what is a good tool and what is an appropriate situation for it. Whether that thing is a library, language, paradigm, ...