CodeNewbie Community 🌱

Cover image for My 2021 Unwrapped
Novice
Novice

Posted on

My 2021 Unwrapped

As we step into a new year, I am here to unwrap whatever I did in the year 2021.

2021 was an year of mixed emotions for me. From anxiety, to sadness, to little happiness, to meeting new people & making new friends, to motivations & encouragements, to learning a lot. This year has been a roller-coaster for me and has surely taught me a lot. Not only on the materialistic side, but also on the intellectual aspect.

The year started pretty well. I started learning new things. One of my goals for 2021 was to read about a new topic each day. I will say I am 40%-50% on that goal, because some days, it so happened that I read about a new topic and then following days I was digging into that particular topic itself. It surely counts as learning new thing, doesn't it?
In 2021 I enhanced my open-source journey a bit. Although I entered into the world of open-source in 2020, but it was only in 2021 that I understood the true meaning of open-source and open-culture.
I took part in different open-source programs as a volunteer, participant, and mentor. It started with Girl Script Summer of Code. I learnt a lot more than the basic git commands here and met new people. I was able to secure a rank of 83 among 6500+ participants from across the globe. After that I was selected as a mentor for DevIncept DCP 2021 and a fellow for Script Winter of Code. I took up the role of mentor in DevIncept DCP 2021 and helped a lot of participants to make their first contribution to open-source. It felt great to be able to help newcomers and retain their faith in themselves that they are no less and once after getting started, they can do wonders!
I was also a part of the Open Source Day by AnitaB.org, where I made contributions to projects like Ceph and Material-UI.

Later this year, I got the chance to be a part of the SUSE Cloud Native Foundations Program by Udacity.