CodeNewbie Community 🌱

Tim Apple
Tim Apple

Posted on

My Coding Orgin Story = Chaos

So, pick a language they say. Well for some of us it just isn't that easy. You could say I started coding in the 80's with Basic. I had goto loops scrolling for days. Since then I may have messed with some HTML in the late 90's, but not much.

Jump into the future, I've been a what I would call power user of PCs whether Linux or Windows on and off for a couple decades. I never really got much into code. In the late 2000's I heard of Why_the_Lucky_Stiff and played around with Ruby a little. But I never got much further than variables.

Jump forward again to just a couple of years ago, I'm already past my mid 40's and thinking of career change. Code seems like the way to go. I was blessed to get into the Vets Who Code cohort. Jerome Hardaway and the gang sure taught me a lot, but web stuff just really didn't trip my trigger. I couldn't maintain focus on it. Maybe the web didn't excite me.

This lack of interest in web had me playing with Python, Ruby, Rust, and Flutter/Dart. All of which, I don't get very far because I get distracted by one of the others. Maybe I have ADHD, who knows.

This is ridiculous right? How am I going to get to a level where I could find work. I don't think anyone wants to hire Johnny Jump Around. So as of late, I promised myself I was going to stick with Python. I would learn one language fairly well so I could actually have some reasonabley skilled stuff in my portfolio and on my resume.

Let me tell you, it is so hard for me to stick to this. After just a few days of learning I start wanting to go check out this new thing in Flutter or maybe I can get further with Rust (yeas, rust, I know).

I cannot be the only person like this. Do I have to buckle down to one language to start? Should I just settle on two? I know that would be harder, but maybe better than jumping between 3,4, or maybe 5. The insanity of it all!