CodeNewbie Community ๐ŸŒฑ

Cover image for How I decided which language I should learn

How I decided which language I should learn

Like many of you, I also thought for a long time about which programming language I should actually learn. Python for machine learning and AI, Java for big apps, Swift for mobile apps, each language/field seemed so interesting and I spent a lot of time trying different things and still had no idea which language to stick with. This cost me a lot of time that I really want to spare you.

Hello, I am Julia ๐Ÿ‘ฉโ€๐Ÿ’ป, a self-taught React developer and I would like to explain to you why I chose frontend and ReactJS in particular as a programming language to learn.

Why to choose frontend

Frontend seemed to me to be the easiest to learn at the time. And in my situation, it was definitely much easier than Python or Java. I needed to see things right away, and fiddling around with CSS and creating something beautiful made me happy.

That doesn't mean I'll stay with frontend forever, I'm interested in other languages too, but I wanted to get a job as soon as possible and calculated my odds, so I started learning HTML, CSS, and then JS/React.

When I googled for tutorials, React was everywhere. React seemed to be THE language to learn at that moment, and when I learned about a mentorship program called The Collab Lab where you can apply if you know React to work on a smart app in an agile team, that was the final decision and motivation to dedicate myself fully to React.

I want to get into this program, so I'm going to learn React, no matter the cost.

After learning frontend for three months, I applied for the program and was accepted ๐Ÿ’ช. I have to admit that at that point I didn't have the knowledge that the others had. I had to put in a lot more hours than the others and learn React all day to keep up.