CodeNewbie Community 🌱

Cover image for What is a Service Lifecycle in ITIL?

Posted on

What is a Service Lifecycle in ITIL?

he current version of Information Technology Infrastructure Library (ITIL) is described in five volumes each one corresponds to a particular stage within the ITIL service lifecycle.
The ITIL service lifecycle is a method of implementing the most effective practices described in the ITIL framework. It is divided in five stages: strategy for service service design, transition, service operation and continuous improvement of service. Are you looking to become an ITIL specialist? Check out ITIL 4 Certification after which you can be certified.

Service Strategy

The purpose of the lifecycle stage is to identify and create a plan to meet the needs of customers.
The ultimate goal is creating an IT business think and behave in a more strategic way The service strategy phase begins with a thorough assessment of the customer's needs and market. The findings of this analysis will be used to decide which services are required and a list of capabilities which have to be developed.

Service Design

The goal of the lifecycle phase isn't just to create new IT services however, it also aims to identify improvements and changes on existing ones. Its scope procedure can be observed by studying the outcomes of the evaluations conducted in the previous phase of service strategy.

The design and development of new IT services, as well as the modifications and enhancements on existing offerings should be consistent with the requirements of the company overall. In this regard, the designs and modifications to service offerings should be based on market and customer demands in mind.

Service Transition

The purpose of the lifecycle phase is to create and launch new IT services.

The phase of transitioning services is also the phase of life in which design changes and enhancements are planned and implemented efficiently.

Service Operation

The goal of the lifecycle of service operations phase is to ensure the IT services are offered efficiently and effectively. For a lot of IT companies, the requirements and guidelines that govern how they manage and deliver IT services are codified within the form of an SLA (service levels agreement).

The activities and tasks which comprise the operation lifecycle include essential operational tasks including resolving service issues and addressing user requests and resolving problems.

Continual Service Improvement (CSI)

The goal for this CSI phase of lifecycle is apply the lessons that was accumulated from past successes as well as failures.
Suggests as the name implies, the CSI phase is an open loop intended to encourage constant improvement within an IT business. The improvements that are made during this phase should be geared towards the aim of providing services that are more effective and efficient.

Top comments (0)