CodeNewbie Community 🌱

BekahHW
BekahHW

Posted on • Originally published at bekahhw.github.io on

So You Want to Get Started in Community?

I’ve seen a lot of tweets recently and been a part of a number of conversations with people in tech who are interested in joining a DevRel team or applying for a community position, but don’t know how to get the experience to do that. I’ve thought a lot about that, and I have some tips for getting experience that you can represent on a resume. I’ll be focusing specifically on community in this post, but feel free to drop some tips for DevRel experience in the comments.

First, let’s define community–if that’s even possible. I really like Chris Brogan’s definition: > The difference between an audience and a community is which direction the chairs are pointing. In this sense, community is about developing relationships, engaging with people, being a part of something together. You’re not talking at them; you’re talking with them.

I would guess that you’ve been a part of a community at some point in your life. It doesn’t have to be a formal community like Virtual Coffee. It might be a moms group that meets up once a week or a fitness class where you work out with others. Think about what made those communities special to you. How can you take that experience and apply it to something new?

Now, to get experience in Community, you can start your own or support an existing community. Let’s talk about starting your own community first. Now, I would not recommend the “go big or go home” method here, but let’s take a look at some of the questions to start with: