CodeNewbie Community 🌱

Cover image for [On-Demand Talk] Women and Tech: Why Representation Matters
Pachi Parra for CodeLand 2022

Posted on

[On-Demand Talk] Women and Tech: Why Representation Matters

About this talk

It's no secret: the percentage of women and non-binary people in technology is much lower than that of men. And that number drops even more in leadership positions.

In this lecture, we will talk about representation: What is it? Why does it matter?

I'll talk about how thinking deeply about this can literally change the lives of the people involved and how those of you who are not women can support and help with actions (not just posts on Twitter).

Talk Recording

Slides

🌈 Comment below and ask me questions — I might just answer them during my live speaker discussion!

About me

Hi! I'm Pachi, your friendly developer relations person. After nannying for years, I started learning to code while building meaningful connections within the dev community. As a native Brazilian, I infuse her experience as an immigrant woman in tech into my work. My goal is to create newbie-friendly content to help make tech should be accessible to all. When I'm not live coding on Twitch, I watch anime, read too many romance novels, and complain about the patriarchy on Twitter.

This on-demand talk is part of CodeLand 2022 — a virtual conference brought to you by CodeNewbie & DEV on June 16 & 17, 2022.

Oldest comments (18)

Collapse

soccerzortz profile image
Lara Krefski

I'm really looking forward to this talk. As a woman developer, I have really had to deal with discrimination and prove myself to my male counterparts. I have had to work extra hard to get respect and fight against biases.

Collapse

hellotjphan profile image
TJ Phan

Coming into the tech field, I really had no idea how gender skewed this culture is. I've been so lucky to be surrounded by women who code that convinced me that there are more of them than the statistics.

Collapse

kitamreik profile image