CodeNewbie Community 🌱

Pauline
Pauline

Posted on • Updated on

Self-studying 101: advice from a self-taught dev

Embarking on a learning journey on your own is extremely exciting, but can also be very overwhelming. I wanted to share my 2¢ based on my own experience on how to go about this and hopefully put you in the starting blocks equipped with the right mindset in order to reach your most ambitious developer goals. 👇

Find a learning method that works for you

This is the first and most valuable tip I can share with you. It’s something that took me the longest time to realise, and which has helped me the most on my developer journey. If you only take away 1 thing from this article, let it be this.

When you are new to the world of code, it makes sense to tread in the footsteps of others. At the time of writing, a quick “learning how to code” Google search brings up more than 10.6 billion results! It's safe to say that coding is gaining popularity and there are tons of platforms and resources, but with that also come millions of opinions on how to get started. Before you buy a handful of recommended books and courses, first answer this: What is the most effective way for you to learn new concepts?

Do you prefer to learn through books or documentation? Video tutorials? Interactive tutorials? Or perhaps you prefer to immediately get your hands dirty by building small projects and to solve problems as you go.

If you’re unsure about which way is best for you, feel free to experiment with this and to try out different methods. Learning a new topic on your own offers the luxury of being able to fully personalise and customise your journey and curriculum — use this to your advantage and find something that works for you!

Don’t be afraid to drop (popular) resources