CodeNewbie Community 🌱

Vanessa Finn
Vanessa Finn

Posted on

Is jQuery still relevant?

Hello, community!

I'm hoping someone can help me with a burning question I have. Most of what I'm reading online is turns into a mud-slinging debate which I'd like to avoid since I'm a newbie and not interested in arguments — just trying to learn here!

Ok, on to my question...

Is jQuery still relevant today?

It seems like it's taken a bit of a backburner position and it also appears that there's a more modern and standardized alternative for every jQuery feature I'd otherwise want to use/understand/mess about with.

Should spend any time on jQuery as a hopeful developer who's teaching herself to code? Or is it irrelevant and outdated?

Thanks so much!

Top comments (9)

Collapse

aritdeveloper profile image
Arit Amana

Great question!

Are you quite firm on basic javascript concepts, and would like to learn jQuery as part of your dev toolbelt? You're right that there are more modern libraries, but if you enjoy learning and using jQuery, then go for it!

However, I caution against learning jQuery as a "shortcut" for not needing to learn vanilla JS. When I was learning to code, some learning resources would say "learn jQuery so you don't have to worry about straight JS". This is a mistake in my opinion.

A firm grasp of vanilla JS principles and approaches will only serve to strengthen your understanding and use of libraries and frameworks built with JS (jQuery, React, etc).

Hope this helps! 😄

Collapse

vanessafinn_989 profile image
Vanessa Finn

Thanks, Arit!! Appreciate your balanced answer so much :)

Based on this alone, I want to revisit jQuery down the line once I've had time to get up to speed with vanilla JS. Really good advice.

Collapse

ben profile image
Ben Halpern

jQuery has been supplanted by improved browser APIs, so it is definitely not relevant like it used to be, but there are plenty of reasons why it is not a total gonner: