CodeNewbie Community 🌱

Anthony Nanfito
Anthony Nanfito

Posted on • Originally published at ananfito.hashnode.dev

My Top 3 Tips for Staying Focused

What I learned from three rounds of #100DaysOfCode

Intro

Hello and welcome to another blog post for Anthony’s Techie Thoughts! If you’re new here, my name is Anthony and I’m studying programming to make a career change from mathematics teacher to frontend web developer. In my blog posts, I reflect on my journey and share things I’m learning along the way. You can find me on Mastodon, GitHub, LinkedIn, Hashnode, DEV.to, and CodeNewbie.

In this blog post, I’ll share my top three tips for staying focused while studying or coding. These came out of a reflection after completing a third round of the #100DaysOfCode challenge. These techniques worked for me and they might work for you. Feel free to take what vibes with you and toss the rest. Alright, let’s get to the tips!

Tips for Staying Focused

Tip #1: Turn off notifications 🔕

Red and white neon sign with a heart and zero.

Image Credit: Prateek Katyal

If you’re looking to stay focused and, perhaps, get into a state of flow, then you’ve got to eliminate distractions. Apart from choosing a quiet working environment, this means turning off notifications on your devices (e.g., phone, tablet, computer) for the duration of your work session. The last thing you want is to hear a ‘ding’ and then get pulled down a virtual rabbit hole and lose valuable work time. Your future self will thank you.

Turn off the notifications and, if you can, put your phone out of arm’s reach. I’ve found that even if I pick up my phone, even when it’s on silent, I can still get sucked into something distracting. So I’ve started following the motto of “out of sight, out of mind” by placing my phone out of arms reach, but still where I can hear my interval timer go off (more on that in Tip #3).

Tip #2: Listen to relaxing music 🎶