CodeNewbie Community šŸŒ±

Uchenna Egbo
Uchenna Egbo

Posted on

A reflection on my CNC2022 Code More journey

Name: Uchenna Egbo

Title: Software Engineer

#CNC2022 Cohort: #CNC2022 "Code More" Cohort 1.

"Code More" Goal: To code more consistently.

Introduction

Introduction

Hi, my name is Uchenna Egbo and I am a software Engineer from Nigeria. My motivation for joining the code more challenge is to code even more consistently.

I am an experienced programmer, however, after my ordeal at my previous job, my passion and love for coding was waning a little bit. I needed to rekindle the fire back by finding a community that would motivate and push me gradually towards rediscovering my joy for coding and building stuff again.

When I found codeNewbie online, it instantly felt like it was meant for me. My expectation was - to be more consistent with coding because I knew I loved doing what I do.

CodeNewbie helped me excel by guiding me towards achieving that. Now I have a defined step, methods and hacks that works out of the box for me which I have discovered while going through this training.

https://community.codenewbie.org/yuhcee/comment/9pf

Mission 1

Have a clear picture of what I wanted to achieve, what achieveing it would look like, identifying and removing obstacles that might hinder them ahead.

Mission 1 helped me think clearly what I wanted to achieve and why I wanted to achieve it. Some of my assumptions were that I would have enough passion to push through the hard parts. But while that was true for some days, for most days, that was not the case.

However, I was quick to adjust to what works for me while going through the program by constantly tweaking my tasks, schedules to keep me motivated towards my goal. I aslo identified that social media was the major cankerworm that was eating the most productive hours of my day.