CodeNewbie Community 🌱

Cover image for [On-Demand Talk] How I Tracked My Pregnancy with Python & Emojis
Hannah Hazi for CodeLand 2022

Posted on

[On-Demand Talk] How I Tracked My Pregnancy with Python & Emojis

About this talk

While I was pregnant I developed a web app to track my progress in a fun and different way - with emoji! I used the web framework Anvil which let me write the app entirely in Python - no need to worry about CSS or HTML.

I'll talk you through how I put the app together and added custom links, a login portal, weekly email updates to my users and more.

Try out the app here! https://www.howpregnantami.com

Talk Recording

Slides

Resources

🌈 Comment below and ask me questions — I might just answer them during my live speaker discussion!

About me

Hi! I'm Hannah Hazi. I'm a software engineer based in Cambridge, UK. I originally wanted to become a civil engineer but fell in love with Python after exploring 3D printing and never looked back. I currently works at Anvil as a Developer Advocate, helping people build web apps with nothing but Python. In my spare time, I love playing with Raspberry Pi and making art. My website is raspberrycheesecake.github.io.

This on-demand talk is part of CodeLand 2022 — a virtual conference brought to you by CodeNewbie & DEV on June 16 & 17, 2022.

Top comments (22)

Collapse

dortizkosobucki profile image
Daniela Ortiz-Kosobucki

Hello Hannah! I am a Pelvic Floor Physical Therapist who is starting into the software dev world. I love learning and hearing of tools people are creating to help people who are pregnant, so thank you so much for your app, your talk, and sharing your resources!

Collapse

dulyaaa profile image
Dulya Perera • Edited

Wooahh..!! Amazing talk @raspberrycheesecake 😍😇😊 And I love your baby boy.. he is sooo cuteee..👦

Collapse

anyanka profile image
Anja

I never heard of Anvil until today but it looks cool and I really like Python, thanks for sharing your work, I'll try it. :)

Collapse