CodeNewbie Community 🌱

Cover image for #CNC2021 "Code More" Pre-Mission Submission Thread
CodeNewbie Staff for CodeNewbie Team

Posted on

#CNC2021 "Code More" Pre-Mission Submission Thread

After you've completed the pre-mission reading, comment below with your reflections on past coding sessions and future coding plans/goals. Feel free to introduce yourself and follow other participants you see below! Encourage one another and provide help where you think it's necessary.

Congrats on challenging yourself to Code More! If you have any questions about the challenge overall, head to the Code More Help Thread. For any technical questions throughout the challenge (or in general) write a #help post and share with the community!

Latest comments (65)

Collapse

mazonthemoon profile image
Mary Ronan

Hi everyone :)

It's my first time doing a challenge like this so really looking forward to this!

So what makes a good coding session for me?

a) I’ve had a plan of attack on what to do...and stick with it
b) I document my process (let’s me learn from my mistakes and work out what is a good practice for me)
c) I’m prepared so I don’t have to stop once I start...have a water bottle/cuppa, notepad & pencils, headphones and playlist...

What hinders having a good coding session?

a) Don’t try and make up a plan or design as I go...spend some time working out on paper how the project will work out
b) Backups and version control (Thank you git) for the inevitable mistakes and rolling back to an earlier version
c) Minimise distractions - focus only on coding for the session.

My long term goals?
In the next 12 months I would like to build up enough knowledge, projects and confidence to change careers to be a front end developer.

Collapse

mcrawlings profile image
Matthew

I learned a tiny bit of design just so my front-end development didn't look like hot garbage!

Thank you, Chisomo; put a smile on my face :)

Collapse

godzillian profile image
Abhinab Pratap Singh Chauhan